Marissa

/Marissa
Marissa

Marissa

My name is Marissa and I am currently a junior at UCLA! I am majoring in History and am very passionate about the subject that I have chosen to study. Finding connections between the past and the present allow me to critically consider the state of our world today and how we as a society may work to better it.

I am very outgoing, sociable, dedicated, patient, and hard working. I enjoy taking on new challenges and pushing myself outside of my boundaries. I think this is fairly clear in the way I live my daily life. I am an avid hiker, love yoga, and exploring the outdoors. I believe that these qualities definitely cross over into my tutoring style.

My education has always been a huge priority in my life. After countless hours of studying as a student myself; I feel that I have refined and established a variety of techniques that will help keep my own students engaged and motivated. In my previous experiences working with students, it has been extremely rewarding to watch them grow and transform as they work towards mastering the material. I take great pride in watching as they flourish and become more confident in their abilities under my advisement. My goal as a tutor is to go above and beyond the idea that my students should just be able to pass a test. I believe that it is a crucial part of my job that they also gain an understanding of how the information they learn can become applicable in the world around them.

I have the unique experience of being a transfer student from my local community college into UCLA. I feel that this has given me a broader variety of learning and perspective, especially when it comes to understanding the pressure of college classes.

I am comfortable tutoring in all levels of English, Writing, History, Geography, and other Political Science courses (including AP and SAT/ACT levels). Additionally, I can tutor up to Spanish 3 and help in crafting college essays. Some of the relevant courses that I have taken are AP U.S. History, A.P. English Language and Composition, World History, European History, U.S. History, Women’s History, Southeast Asian History, Creative Writing, and Western Civilizations.

Marissa's qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: B.A. History (in progress)
Graduate Degree:

Hobbies

I have a well-rounded variety of hobbies! I am a very creative person and like to have an outlet that lets me express myself in that way. I have found a great love for creative writing, journaling, and making collages. I also greatly enjoy reading and will pretty much read anything I can get my hands on. Additionally, I love being outdoors. I am an avid hiker, yogi, and beach-goer.

Tutoring Subjects

Get Tutoring Info & Rates

A director will contact you right away

Privacy Policy

Contact Info

Office Hours: Monday - Saturday 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM (PST)

Phone: (877) 500-0818

Web: Tutor Me Education

LOCATIONS

Atlanta 404-205-8307
Austin 512-377-6486
Boston 617-459-4041
Chicago 847-278-8402
Dallas 877-500-0818
Denver 877-500-0818
Houston 877-500-0818
Los Angeles 310-896-8625
Miami 786-231-1617
New York 646-389-9690
Phoenix 877-500-0818
Philadelphia 215-789-9294
San Diego 619-478-4807
San Francisco 415-890-5188
Seattle 877-500-0818
St. Louis 877-500-0818
Washington D.C. 571-645-5578