Hi, I’m Mike, and thanks for stopping by my profile! I am passionate about seeing students progress in their educational pursuits. I believe everyone can learn, but sometimes students need help building their confidence and finding the best way to practice that matches their learning style.

I graduated with an MA in English in 2014 after developing a love for writing and literature. I wanted to bring that love for learning to the classroom, so I pursued a career in teaching. I spent two years teaching writing and reading comprehension classes to high school students. In this setting I learned firsthand that there is no one approach that works for all students. Sometimes I had to adapt to students who had issues with focus, learning challenges like dyslexia, or issues at home. This experience was pivotal in my development as an instructor and a tutor.

For the last four years, I have been an adult education instructor for students of all ages working toward a high school equivalency diploma. This position gives me the unique opportunity to teach multiple subjects including math, reading, writing, social studies, and science. I also specialize in study skills and test prep. Because my classes include students of varying age, ability, and learning challenges, I am well suited to work with all types of students.

I help students see that we all have strengths and talents in learning–some of us simply have different learning styles that work best for success. I work with students to uncover that learning style and develop a growth mindset so they can see the benefit in practice and even in making mistakes. It is important for me to build a rapport with the student so they feel comfortable working with me. While the first few sessions will include plenty of practice, I also take this time to make sure the student is comfortable opening up about their fears, frustrations, and beliefs about learning. This is an essential part of developing a productive tutoring program.

I have experience teaching basic arithmetic all the way to advanced ACT math. Through my graduate education in English, I am highly skilled in grammar, essay writing, reading comprehension, and study skills. As a tutor, I have helped many students prepare for the HiSET, GED, ACT, and GRE exams. No tutoring session is exactly the same. I utilize a variety of teaching approaches based on the student’s learning style and personality. I have a wealth of resources and practice materials at my disposal if a student does not need specific help with an assignment or homework.

I would love the opportunity to work with you. There is no commitment to chat with me to see if we are a good fit. I would be happy to discuss more details about how a tutoring session will work and answer any other questions you may have. Thanks!

Michael's qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Bachelor of General Studies - Art and Humanities Concentration
Graduate Degree: MA - English


Exercise, guitar, music, reading, movies

Tutoring Subjects