Orliana

/Orliana
Orliana

Orliana

Hello! I am a second-year at the University of Chicago majoring in English, History, and Creative Writing. Throughout high school, I helped my friends complete their homework, study for finals, and write their college essays. Watching them exceed their own expectations made me realize how much I love working one-on-one with students, getting to know them and how they like to learn.

For the past two years, I have tutored high-schoolers on the South Side of Chicago, preparing them for the SAT, editing their college essays, and making sure they’re ready for the transition from high school to college. Many of the students I work with are at a high risk of dropping out of college, so I keep in touch with them the summer after their senior year and through their freshman year of college, reminding them to meet their financial aid deadlines and register for classes. I believe that building these personal connections is what enables my students to excel; having consistent support and encouragement gives them the confidence to do well.

I tutor eighth-graders as well, helping them with their science, math, social studies, and English homework. Some of my students have special needs, and I’ve worked successfully with them, their parents, and their teachers to figure out how they learn best. My students have earned at least a full letter grade higher on their final grades after a semester of tutoring.

I always try to make the student in charge of their learning plan. This keeps them engaged and gives them a sense of accomplishment when they achieve their goals. It also lays the groundwork for self-motivated study in high school, college, and for the rest of their lives.

As a humanities major, I feel very comfortable teaching creative and academic writing, history, and literature. I have training for SAT tutoring and scored a 1540 when I took the exam (the new version) in 2016. Regarding relevant high school classes, I have taken both AP Calculus classes, AP Music Theory, AP French, AP US Government, AP US History, AP World History, and both AP English classes. I am also fluent in Hebrew.

Orliana's qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: BA from the University of Chicago: Expected 2021
Graduate Degree:

Hobbies

Singing, Songwriting, Baking, Reading, Creative Writing

Tutoring Subjects

Get Tutoring Info & Rates

A director will contact you right away

Privacy Policy

Contact Info

Office Hours: Monday - Saturday 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM (PST)

Phone: (877) 500-0818

Web: Tutor Me Education

LOCATIONS

Atlanta 404-205-8307
Austin 512-377-6486
Boston 617-459-4041
Chicago 847-278-8402
Dallas 877-500-0818
Denver 877-500-0818
Houston 877-500-0818
Los Angeles 310-896-8625
Miami 786-231-1617
New York 646-389-9690
Phoenix 877-500-0818
Philadelphia 215-789-9294
San Diego 619-478-4807
San Francisco 415-890-5188
Seattle 877-500-0818
St. Louis 877-500-0818
Washington D.C. 571-645-5578