Hi, I’m Stephen, and I love helping students reach their full academic potential. I am a Princeton graduate with experience tutoring high school students, mainly in math, science, and English. All of my students have seen significant improvements in their grades and understanding of their course material. I also have experience preparing students for standardized testing, including: the SAT, ACT, various AP exams, and SAT subject exams.

Additionally, having experienced the bruising process of applying to and eventually attending an elite university, I understand how much stress many students face during high school as they try to plan their futures. Accordingly, my tutoring style focuses on providing a comfortable (but challenging) environment in which my students can discover and explore their academic interests. I strongly believe that the best way to educate is to spark excitement for the material in my students, rather than using their academic work as a cudgel.

I have a broad knowledge base, having taken courses in high school and college covering, among others, the following subjects: chemistry, biology, physics, calculus (including proof-based multivariable), linear algebra, fiction writing, film production, race and gender inequality studies, U.S. nuclear policy, and screenwriting. This diverse knowledge, coupled with my ability to personally connect with a constellation of personalities, has helped me to tutor students from a variety of backgrounds and education levels.

As a final note, an overview of my test scores is as follows:

SAT: 2250, 750 across the board in my only sitting; ACT: 35; AP: 5 in Calculus BC, U.S. History, Chemistry, Biology, Physics C; SAT Subject Exams: 800 in Math II, Chemistry, Biology, Physics.

Stephen's qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Princeton University, A.B. in Woodrow Wilson School for Public and International Affairs, concentration in domestic policy
Graduate Degree:


I'm an avid reader and writer; I try to read a novel and three screenplays a week and write a few pages a day. I also love watching movies/television and debating them ad nauseam. I'm from Hawaii, so I enjoy going to the beach and getting as much sun as possible. I also love eating (which is going to become a serious problem as my metabolism slows down), so I'm always hunting for new restaurant recommendations.

Tutoring Subjects